Why My Gears are Grinding

Twitter: Why do I need it? Why do you have it? | September 7, 2011

A couple weeks ago, I finally decided to keep up with the times and get a twitter account. I’ve played around with the basics. I started following friends and family, got into what some celebrities are ranting and raving about, and even started to pull a little group of followers (which despite the fact that it’s my mom and two kids from high school, I still feel like a celebrity). However, to be quite honest I find it to be more annoying than anything else. First of all, why should I really care if my cousin just tried anew toothpaste or that my favorite band has practice in Ohio at 7 p.m.? I suppose if it was the greatest toothpaste in the world, she’d be ranting and raving about it at thanksgiving, or that maybe if I lived in Ohio and my favorite band was telling people to come jam with them I’d be interested but quite frankly, as of now, I do not. Which brings me to my next point, if someone does truly care that I am leaving my house to go to class or interested in any other trivial fact about my daily life, that’s not interest, that’s stalking (If you are truly that obsessed with someone please refrain from shooting the messenger and seek help). I guess my biggest question in the past few weeks since finally giving in to twitter is why do we need this? Why, society, is it that there is a need for such a thing to exist? Do people even read the posts half the time? All I’m saying is that if you truly care about someone’s day to day life that much they are probably a loved one and you are a part of their day to day life anyway, which makes you special (again if they do not love you back, seek help). My point is Twitter takes away the comfort of having a special someone that you can tell everything to at the end of the day which I personally think is a necessity, and for everyone else you want to know about, there’s Facebook.

Image Source:

http://www.google.com/imgres?q=twitter+bird+follow+me&start=10&num=10&um=1&hl=en&biw=1116&bih=470&tbm=isch&tbnid=NY9uZizBu4vNoM:&imgrefurl=http://sneerwell.blogspot.com/2009/08/25-free-twitter-bird-icon-packs.html&docid=2cwKU6l1Dst1IM&w=400&h=270&ei=DBeVTvuvEsSzsALQmoDwAQ&zoom=1&iact=rc&dur=493&sqi=2&page=2&tbnh=113&tbnw=161&ndsp=12&ved=1t:429,r:10,s:10&tx=79&ty=56

Posted in SPC 213

4 Comments »

  1. I personally do not understand Twitter at all. Maybe I am just a little technically challenged, but I could not figure out the point of it! I believe Facebook is a lot more interactive then Twitter. Twitter is just constantly updating people on where you are and what you are feeling. Most of the time I do not want everyone to know all the little details in my life. I agree that Twitter reminds me of bunch of stalkers. I prefer Facebook and try not to reveal everything about my life to the world.

    Comment by mariahpete — September 12, 2011 @ 11:51 pm

  2. […] Twitter: Why do I need it? Why do you have it? […]

    Pingback by Blog Comments « apeakinsidemylife — October 4, 2011 @ 11:30 pm

  3. I enjoyed your post on Twitter. I, too have an account. I follow a few close friends, family and some athletes. Honestly, I enjoy hearing about what some of the Cardinal players are doing on their off day or what Brandon Phillips has to say about the Cardinals. I don’t consider it stalking because of the fact that I don’t sit on my account all day waiting for the next tweets to come in. I do agree with that fact that twitter does take away the special person that we can all say something to at the end of the day. Good post.

    Comment by j90allen — October 11, 2011 @ 5:19 pm

  4. […] Twitter: Why do I need It? Why do you have it? by Zack Gondek on September 7th, 2011 […]

    Pingback by Blog Comments « j90allen — October 11, 2011 @ 5:22 pm


Leave a Reply

    September 2011
    M T W T F S S
        Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

    Blog Stats

    • 132 hits
