Why My Gears are Grinding

Uplifted roots | December 1, 2011

A lot of my friends at SIUe are from hometowns within an hour from the school. Now I am from the Chicago land area (Carol Stream if you want to get specific). We all get along pretty fine, have a good time together, and have a lot of the same interests. However the one thing I have been yelled at for (and to be quite frank, probably even smack on the back of the head for) was the use of the word “pop.” The first time this happened I honestly jumped, it went something like this “Hey can I have a pop?” to which point all 10 or 15 people in the room around me turned as if they had just heard rusty nails drag across a chalk board and simultaneously yelled “IT’S SODA!” At first I didn’t think it was that big of a deal, I’d say pop and they’d yell soda. Then it got to the point where it was just funny to annoy them. Then one day I caught myself saying soda, and I started to think of all the things I did differently down here then I used to. It’s just kind of funny how you think one way for so long and then you move away, you start being around different people and your path in life gets further and further from your roots till one day you barely remember the roots at all.

Posted in SPC 213

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct    
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

    Blog Stats

    • 132 hits
